Camp NaNoWriMo – The Results

Success!

Admittably, I’ve been doing a terrible job of updating my blog on a consistent basis; rest assured, however, that my intention is to change this….

Now we’ll see if I actually do change it; in such a busy world, resolutions are difficult to pursue once made.

But I digress! To my utter relief, on August 31st, after writing 10,000 words in one day (my standing record), I completed a 50,000 word novel in a month. Needless to say, doing this has been one of the more exhausting things I’ve devoted my time to, but it’s been entirely worth it. I thank God that I have been blessed with such a wonderful opportunity!

There was one failure, though; I had determined, at the beginning of August, to only use one character throughout the entire novel. Though I initially kept up with this, I couldn’t persist; it was too difficult for me to write about a character’s thoughts and actions alone without any interaction with other characters. So, I DID add a few other characters; fortunately, though, I had significantly less than I usually do in a 50,000 word novel.

You might be asking, “Why did Ryan have to write 10,000 words in one day? Why did he spend an entire afternoon without food trying to finish something that no one would probably ever read? Why did he partake in a dying art? Why would he waste his time? Why? Why? Why?”

Lemony Snicket wrote an excellent NaNoWriMo pep-talk a few years back; its tone is decidedly pessimistic, but it gives you perspective on writing in general. The art that I’m practicing is an honorable and noble one that has been cherished for countless centuries; it is a true blessing to me, not only enabling me to use what I’ve learned (in history, literature, word-studies, etc.) in a practical way, but also giving me experience with a skill that I might very well earn my living with.

So, that’s the answer to why I even bother; because it’s a cherished thing. Because it is an old and venerated tradition. Because, in a world that is so busy and hectic, a little tranquility – sitting down to write a tale of love, good versus evil or political intrigue – can help one to truly “stop and smell the roses.” It’s something I love to do!

Thanks be to the Lord, Who allows us to do such wonderful things and blesses us with the gifts to do them!

In Christ,

Ryan

 

 

 

1 Comment

  1. October 11, 2011 at 9:54 am

    So we’ve both done 10k in one day? I’ll have to beat that in November 😛

    And I WILL read your entire novel. At some point, anyway….


Leave a Reply

