Camp NaNoWriMo

I failed to mention in my previous post about NaNoWriMo that a second event – titled Camp NaNoWriMo – is coming up shortly in August. This write-athon is the same in every possible way to November’s NaNoWriMo, but, as November was the original competition, I see this August as more of a “practice run” for the following event. Needless to say, however, the torture will be the same as ever, trying to reach a goal of 50,000 words in one month.

The logo for Camp NaNoWriMo

Well, there is one difference – you have thirty-one days in camp to finish your novel. But I don’t count that as a differentiation between the two competitions.

So, I’m excited, and I’ve finally been given an idea. John Sawatazky ov, who will also be participating in Camp, has challenged me to write a survival novel. That is, a boy is stranded in the wilderness, and must fight for his very existence against nature and all the dangers it engenders. As an additional condition to completing his challenge, I must refrain from using ANY supporting characters – the main protagonist must be the only person in the entire story.

He did offer me the right to use ONE supporting character if I deemed it necessary, and I’ll probably cling to that as my one lifeline to get through this next month, but I’ll try to refrain from using it unless the circumstances necessitate it. Suffice it to say that it will be a challenge either way 🙂

As I see it, I now have two strikes going against me as I enter into August:

1. The novel will be a survival story, and I’ve never written one of its kind before. There will be a LOT of research involved as I discover what one must do to hunt properly, prepare meat, start fires, construct tools and shelters, and fight against bitter cold (provided that the story is set in winter). There will assuredly be more elements than these involved, but I offer them just to give you an idea of how difficult it will be.

2. NO SUPPORTING CHARACTERS. This will be the most difficult challenge for me, as I’ve never written stories with just one character before. How I will fill eighty to ninety pages with a boy’s thoughts and actions as he essays to survive in difficult circumstances is unknown to me at present 😀

BUT, I’m excited; perhaps more excited than I was last year. August will present plenty of arduous tasks for me to complete and a plethora of obstacles to surmount, but it will all serve to better me as a writer.

That, or it’ll crush me. I’ll leave up to you to conjecture which will occur 😀

God bless!

In Christ,

Ryan

4 Comments

  1. August 2, 2011 at 4:17 pm

    You think YOURS will be difficult to write? Well, you’re right. But, you have to admit that the one you gave me will be hard too…..

    Let’s hope that the month goes well!

  2. eritta said,

    September 30, 2011 at 12:00 pm

    Phew! Good luck with that, sounds crazy! I highly suggest placing it in some sort of rainforest. There’s a lot more to talk about in a rainforest than in a bitter tundra, unless you want to go for the ‘there’s life even in the cold wasteland’ angle – which come to think of it, could turn awesomely allegorical, if you wanted it to!

    Either way, good luck, and I hope your camp Nano went well!

  3. ryan4143 said,

    October 9, 2011 at 9:42 pm

    Thanks, Eritta! Turns out that it went very well; I succeeded in reaching my 50,000 word goal!

  4. ryan4143 said,

    October 9, 2011 at 9:43 pm

    Wish I would’ve thought to use a rainforest; oh well! Can’t change that now. 🙂


Leave a Reply

