NaNoWriMo 2011

Who knows why I put myself through this torture? I suppose it’s a kind of crucible that molds me into a seasoned writer; but it might also be construed as self-inflicted pain….

The National Novel Writing Month logo

You probably don’t understand a word I’m saying. Well, I’ll elucidate, of course; just have to get my thoughts into order before I begin.

NaNoWriMo stands for “National Novel Writing Month”, and is a November event where novelists all over the world write a novel (the criterion in this competition being fifty thousand words).  People from Africa, Europe, Australia, South America and the United States stretch their fingers over their keyboards

and set to writing masterpieces in a mere thirty days. Needless to say, this gives a participant an excellent sense of community, since you know that, everywhere else, people are suffering through writing 1,600 words a day just like you are….

I participated in this event last year and, with a lot of help from the Lord to get me up every morning at 6:30 to write, I managed to reach a novel one day before the deadline. Suffice it to say that I was VERY excited. It had been a long month, but it was all worth it in the end. I learned a great deal about writing itself, and about the rewards of persistence and dedication. Ecclesiastes 9:10a reads, “Whatever your hand finds to do, do it with all your might.” I couldn’t agree more 🙂

But it’s hard. Getting up early every morning, sitting down, and writing 1,600 words can be a difficult goal to achieve, especially when you’re exhausted from the previous day’s labors. But with a little help from God, and the willingness to persist, anything is possible through Him who gives you strength 🙂

Wish me luck! If you happen to be interested in participating this year, drop by http://www.nanowrimo.org; they’ve got plenty of information on the particulars of the competition, some articles of encouragement to writers embarking on the torturous journey of making a novel in a month, and plenty of tips for those determined to get involved.

In Christ,

Ryan

 

Leave a Reply

