DAY 26: Ideas – Or a Lack Thereof

Have you ever had one of those days when you sit down, flex your fingers, wiggle them a bit, engage your focus, and start typing only to find that every grandiose plan for writing you had that day cannot come to fruition because your mind is a maelstrom of disorganized thoughts and ideas?

Well, I’m having one of those days.

It isn’t fun. There are a multitude of different ideas I have in my head, but I just can’t get them down. Something – I don’t know what to call it – seems to inhibit my every word from leaving my mind and entering the page. I can’t describe it; it’s as if a barrier has been set between my thoughts and my fingers, hindering the flow of words from one to the other.

Even now, I’m having difficulty thinking of what to say next.

But one article I read in Writer’s Digest talked about the “inspiration” and “perspiration” days; that is, those days when everything comes to mind easily – all that you think is transmitted almost instantly into the written word, and those days when you have to strive constantly to write, pushing through the arduous hindrances that block your path. It isn’t easy.

It builds character, though, and I’m sure God intends for these kind of days to crop up every now and again. Adversity helps immensely when building strength, and I avidly believe that everything that comes our way has been set there by the Father for our benefit and the benefit of others. So, I take the “inspiration” days when they come, as well as I take the “perspiration” days when they come. For “There is a time and a place for everything under heaven”, and “‘For I know the plans I have for you,’ declares the Lord. ‘Plans to prosper you and not to harm you. Plans to give you hope and a future.'”

God bless!

In Christ,

Ryan

Leave a Reply

