DAY 23: Rain

Rain. Ah, the word makes me sigh with delight!

I’ve always liked rain. Something about it makes me feel comfortable inside my house, sitting on the end of the couch, gazing at the torrents of water traveling apace down the streets, gleaming dully in the twilight, as concrete often does when wet. I feel a certain content and pleasure, reading a book, finishing schoolwork, writing a novel or playing the piano, with the rain serving to set my mood. I cannot describe it. I don’t suppose anyone could endeavor to, either, and fully succeed, for there are some things that words cannot describe nor express. God has created

Rain riddling the ground

our emotions and feelings in such a deep, powerful way that language isn’t enough to relate them to others. We can try, and may succeed, to a

certain point, but the furthest extent of our sensations cannot be described.

So, yes. I like rain. I always have. I always will. But there is one kind of rain that I despise.

You guessed it (well, maybe you didn’t)! Drizzly rain.

If it isn’t a downpour, it isn’t pleasant to me. I cannot stand such rain. Rain that seems almost undecided (should I let it all loose, or torture those pesky humans down there?) or maliciously scheming against mankind really agitates me! There’s something about drizzly rain that makes the day’s atmosphere feel bleak, forbidding, grey and unpleasant, as if someone has drawn a shadowy veil over everything so that it all seems depressing and dull. Again, I cannot describe it. But those of you who share these inexpressible feelings can probably relate ๐Ÿ™‚

Oh, and did I mention that rain helps plants grow?

It’s a win-win situation ๐Ÿ˜€

Well, win-win-lose, if you count the dreaded drizzles. But beggars can’t be choosers, eh?

“Oh farmers, pray that your summers be wet and your winters clear.” – An excerpt from The Georgics, written by Roman poet Publius Vergilius Maro (Vergil)

In Christ,

Ryan

2 Comments

  1. May 28, 2011 at 6:07 am

    Did you know that all three of us have now made a post about rain? I guess what they say is true: great minds think alike.

  2. June 1, 2011 at 3:57 pm

    That was exactly what I was going to say Sawatzky!!! ๐Ÿ˜€


Leave a Reply

