DAY 17: Exhaustion

Exhaustion stinks. A lot. I can vouch for that.

I’ve observed, from a very personal perspective (as one tends to do when suffering the effects one observes), that exhaustion takes a terrible toll on one’s writing, and the ability thereof. It takes me well over a few days to get back into the swing of things, and that can be exceedingly difficult,

especially when involved in a blog war with two avid competitors who are more prolific with writing than I 😀

And, as it is wth all wars, you can’t say, “I don’t think I’ll fight today. Maybe I’ll ask my opponents if they’d like to do the same,” because they won’t agree with you, and press even harder with the knowledge of your weakness.

But exhaustion is good, in some respects. Not only does it teach us to appreciate the times when we do have energy, but it also gives us opportunities to press through the most difficult and arduous of tasks, and to “do everything our hand finds to do with all our might” in spite of our weariness. Indeed, exhaustion also compels us to rely on God for our strength, which is even better. Instead of thinking, “My own energy carries me through!”, we begin to understand that the “spirit is willing, but the body is weak”, and that we “can do all things through Christ who

strengthens us”. I firmly believe that every hardship we face – every pain that we endure -, including this one, is present for a reason, even if we don’t understand it.

So embrace the exhaustion, put your trust in the Lord, and know that He’s got you in His hands! That’s something that I certainly have not perfected yet, and, I own, will not any time soon; but with a little faith, anything’s possible through the One who gives us His strength.

One of my favorite verses? “Come to Me, you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest.” – Matthew 11:28

In Christ,

Ryan

Leave a Reply

