DAY 15: God’s Creation

Hey folks! I’ve decided to refrain from writing the next installment of The Elori Saga today, as I am tired and cannot muster the strength to do so. In lieu of it, however, I have set upon writing a very brief post about a subject which sprang into my mind earlier today, though I crave your indulgence; fatigue is not conducive to good writing 😀

Today, I was walking down the sidewalk past our church’s garden, and my gaze was directed downward upon the ants that scurried there. Now, ants are commonplace, and they rarely catch my eye, and, I presume, anyone else’s. But, every once in awhile, I enjoy watching them; human beings have the tendency to find the mundane fascinating when they look at it from a new perspective. This was one of those times.

One particularly bold and valiant ant, though, caught my eye. I saw it only for a split second before I passed it by, but it made a lasting impact on me.

In that courageous ant’s pincers was another ant, being carried by its brother as if it was wounded and helpless!

Can you say “Good Samaritan?”

It was a great scene that brightened my day, really; I began to understand how everything in God’s creation calls out to Him, and echoes His words and commands. Are we not commanded by Jesus to help the helpless? Maybe we could learn something from the ants.

Sometimes the simples things can be the most powerful and beautiful. I think this signifies who God is as well.

Matthew 11:28-30 reads: “Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.”

Simplicity. Gentleness. Humility.

Amazing that God can use the humblest ant to teach us the most powerful lessons!

In Christ,

Ryan

3 Comments

  1. May 21, 2011 at 9:16 pm

    You didn’t happen to see any ants saying “Bonk!”, did you?

  2. May 22, 2011 at 9:31 pm

    I’m a fan of non-story posts 🙂
    You’re almost halfway to catching up!!! 😀

  3. ryan4143 said,

    May 23, 2011 at 8:08 am

    @John: A few, but they didn’t execute the “Bonk!” as well as the ant from YOUR story…

    @Abby: Glad you are! And I know; I’ve just got to pick up the pace, and I’ll be neck and neck with you guys in no time! 😀


Leave a Reply

