A Recent Discovery

I was writing recently on my current story and suddenly chanced upon something I hadn’t expected… A trait in a character I didn’t know was there, and frankly, was not sure I wanted to see in that particular person. It came out so unexpectedly that I immediately wasn’t sure if I wanted it there or not. But I thought on it and I came up with this… Let that character grow. Sometimes they have to be shifted to fit your liking, but I think your story will breathe a little more if you give them a little elbow space. This is the first time, however, that I think I’ve ever had a character swerve in a different direction than I had intended. The result? I was surprised by a character I thought I knew.

2 Comments

  1. November 3, 2009 at 2:01 pm

    My goodness! I’ve had this experience too! It’s a little unquieting at first, but I’m glad i let it go the way it wanted.

  2. Sophia said,

    November 30, 2011 at 7:28 pm

    Haha 🙂 Is it really the first time? My characters honestly do whatever they want. I usually know what they’re /thinking/, and all their traits, but the story is theirs. Sometimes, I actually have to ask to find out where they’re from and what it’s like there.


Leave a Reply

